2017-05-25 / Local News

Fleis scholarship winners announced

A record number of scholarship applications were made and 72 were reviewed by the Fleis Education Fund selection committee.

Tina Poulias, who is studying medicine at Grand Rapids Community College, won the scholarship in memory of Jim and Rita (Fleis) Cwengros.

Other scholarship winners, the college they are or will be attending and hometowns:

 Aquinas College – Therese Evich and Kaitlin Grigg, Cedar.

 Ave Maria University – Anthony, John and Joseph Evich, Cedar.

 Central Michigan – Kaitlyn Barr, Traverse City; Chiara Gerding, Cedar; Sarah Schaub, Lake Leelanau; Olivia Wiltjer, Cedar.

 Davenport University – Aaron Orban, Suttons Bay; Elizabeth Gauthier, Traverse City.

 Ferris State – Austin Flees and Alyssa Weber, Cedar; Keaton Mikowski, Kingsley.

 Grand Valley State University – Kylie Galla, St. Joseph; Zachariah Smith, Grand Rapids; Ina Vanderwerf, Glen Arbor.

 Hope – Matthew Fleis, Leland.

 Michigan State University – Jacob Dewey, Traverse City; Jessica Fleis, Leland; Mackenzy Galla, Traverse City.

 Northwestern Michigan College – Brittany Bolger, Traverse City; Lydia Drzewiecki, Maple City; Anne-Marie Dunklow, Cedar; Travis Fleis, Rogers City; Abraham Gutzka, Traverse City; Maranda Hughes, Cedar; Edward Pleva, Maple City; Nolan Wurm, Cedar.

 Northwood University – Travis Wiltjer, Cedar.

 Nova Southeastern – Ashlee Bottomley, Traverse City.

 University of Michigan – Mario Cassem, Maple City; Roger Crimmins, Leland; John Jurkas, Cedar; Cassandra Lee, Maple City; Anna Och, Lake Leelanau; Jason Schlueter, Ann Arbor.

 Michigan Tech – John Bloom- Edwards, Kingsley.

 Pontifical Institute – Kirsten Trudeau, Suttons Bay.

 Purdue University – Haley Enrietto, Fort Wayne.

 Utah State University – Maddison Gala, Traverse City.

 Wayne State – Manmeet Dhami, Northport; Lilianna Kaastra, Maple City.

 Webster University – Hunter Bell, Leland.

Return to top