2018-04-12 / Local News

Bahle files, creates first contested race

The first contested race for the county Board of Commissioners emerged this week with a Democratic candidate challenging the incumbent for the District 3 seat.

Lois Bahle of Suttons Bay Monday filed as a Democratic candidate for the seat now occupied by incumbent Republican commissioner William J. Bunek, chair of the County Board.

The district includes northern Bingham Township and most of Suttons Bay Township.

Lacking a challenge for their party nominations, the names of Bunek and Bahle will appear on the Nov. 6 general election ballot.

Also making a re-election bid official this week was District 2 incumbent commissioner Debra L. Rushton, who also filed nomination papers.

She is a Republican who represents northern Elmwood and southern Bingham townships.

Other incumbents who have filed for re-election are Ty Wessell, a Democrat, who represents northern Suttons Bay and all of Leelanau Township; Republican Melinda C. Lautner of Cedar who represents Solon and Kasson townships; and Patricia Soutas-Little, a Democrat who occupies the seat representing Leland and Centerville townships.

Republican incumbent commissioners Tony Ansorge and Casey Noonan have yet to file as candidates. District 1 commissioner Ansorge represents southern Elmwood Township and Noonan represents Cleveland, Empire and Glen Arbor townships.

Four candidates have filed as candidates for three seats available on the county Road Commission.

Incumbent James Calhoun from Northport is seeking re-election for one of two, 6-year seats available.

Also filing for the 6-year terms are Michael Zeits of Lake Leelanau, a Republican, and Garth Greenan of Solon Township, a Democrat.

Greg Mikowski of Suttons Bay is the only candidate to date for 4-year seat available on the commission, which will grow from three to five members next year.

The remaining two seats on the Road Commission are filled by John Popa of Bingham Township and Bob Joyce of Omena. Popa’s term expires in 2020; Joyce’s in 2022.

Judicial candidates on the non-partisan ballot to date are Marian Kromkowski and Michael J. Long of Suttons Bay. Both are seeking to replace Probate Court Judge Larry Nelson, who will turn 70 years-old next month — too old to run for reelection to a judgeship in Michigan, according to a state law. Judges must be under 70 when they are sworn in.

The deadline to file as candidates for the August election is 4 p.m., April 24.

Return to top