2011 and Earlier / Life in Leelanau

County spelling bee Feb. 8

Thirty-five students from five county schools will be at Glen Lake next Wednesday, Feb. 8, for the annual county spelling bee, sponsored by the Leelanau Enterprise.

The top spellers among students in grades five through eight were identified at bees in three public and two private county schools.

Suttons Bay will be represented by Ladida Cuellar, Jack Pasche, Spencer Seeley, Montanna Windham, Sydney Woodruff, Simon Kempf and Brett Rice.

Representing the Pathfinder School in Greilickville will be Christian Stellin, Margaret Foster, Kira Lipson, Maggie Richards, Katrina Salon, Allyson Brown and Sabrina Blank. Sierra Moore is an alternate.

Ryan Schaub claimed first place at Lake Leelanau St. Mary and will be representing his school along with Chris Ursu, Justin McSawby, Ryan Popp, Matt Jelinek, Micah Thoreson and Peter Macke. Eighth grader Andrew Mikowski will be the alternate should any of the seven be unable to attend.

Glen Lake will be represented by Erica Bootz, Sonya Shoup, Anne-Marie Dunklow, Clara Kroll, Claire Murray, Violet Pousho and Brandon Cox. Kaitlyn Schaub is the alternate.

Leland’s bee is scheduled to be held today. Northport School did not participate in this year’s bee.

The top seven spellers from the county bee receive gift certificates for movies and popcorn at the Bay Theatre in Suttons Bay will advance to regional competition slated for City Opera House in Traverse City on Sunday, March 11th at 1:00 pm.

The winner of the bee in Traverse City will win an all-expense paid trip to the Scripps National Spelling Bee May 27 through June 4 in Washington, D.C.

Return to top