2011 and Earlier / News

Co-op ski teams dominate league

Glen Lake’s cooperative ski team continued its dominance of the Lake Michigan Ski Conference last week with wins for female and male skiers.

Led by Christina Rennie, the Laker cooperative team swept first through sixth places in the giant slalom (GS) and were one and two in the slalom. Leelanau girls won the meet with 22 points. Benzie had 74 and Onekama had 130.

The girls and the boys squads have won all four of the LMSC meets which could have lead to a little complacency going into yesterday’s conference finals at Schuss Mountain. But don’t bet on it.

“We don’t ever want to be over confident,” said coach Mark Fisher, explaining that anything can happen from run to run. “Skiing is a tremendous mental game.

“It’s you against the hill ... we have them focus on one thing that can produce a better performance.”

In last week’s fourth conference meet of the season, Rennie had the fastest GS time of 42 seconds after two runs. Amanda Lodge was second with a time of 42.31; Flanny Johnson, third, 42.60; Madison Fink, fourth, 44.90; Katie Pershinske, fifth, 45.07 and Kaitlin Gaudard, sixth, 45.31. Teammates Emma Velis and Olivia Pierce-Bluhm were ninth and 10th, respectively, with times of 45.91 and 47.54.

Rennie and Gaudard were numbers one and two in the slalom. Rennie burned down the slopes twice for a combined time of 49.08. Gaudard was second with a time of 55.10.

Onekama’s Bailey Nugent edged in at third with a time of 55.45, but the Lakers swept fourth through eighth place.

The cooperative boys’ team topped the competition with 42 points. Benzie had 65; Onekama, 77 and Bellaire, 110.

Thomas Waning, Pete Kerby-Miller and Ian Hood had three of the top times of the slalom course. Waning won the event in 46.18. Kerby-Miller completed two runs in 49.36 for third place. And Ian Hood was fourth in 54.96.

Waning was tops in the GS with a combined time of 39.75. Kerby-Miller was fourth in 40.34 and Noah Kelly, sixth in 41.90.

By Amy Hubbell
Of The Enterprise staff

Return to top